Choosing Joy.

Being How To Interpret Science Language

choosing-joy-232.jpg

When the customer says ‘No!’ the sale begins. That’s a mantra of sales people, and it’s a daunting challenge to be creative about a critical situation. So: When the science writer says ‘No, I don’t understand this material at all,’ the science writing begins. A problem is not a problem, it’s an opportunity. It’s all in the attitude. Strange as it may seem, but a science writer can learn from a salesman about being creative. In fact, this is a 30-year-old idea; Elmer Leterman wrote his seminal book The Sale Begins When The Customer Says ‘No’ in 1977 yet (amazon.com). The lesson here? One never stops learning. The full essay

~ by frankahilario on 21 October 2007.

3 Responses to “Choosing Joy.”

  1. […] unknown wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt(I chose the material from the International Crops Research Institute for the Semi-Arid Tropics since I’m studying this institute because it’sa model science agency in modern times; it’s an award-winning institute many times over; … […]

  2. Frank,

    Thanks for this piece. I want to write more. I have lots in mind… since I joined the Supreme Court last year. I have my blog. I post short accounts of my experience in the court and of course family life. But I want to write a full blown story. Since I had that short project with you… I learned some ways to improve my writing. But i need consistent coaching. Thanks to your advisories. I get to read them but not all the time. And you’re right… I need to read them twice, thrice, nth in order to understand. I am into documentation lately. I have this Access to Justice for the Poor Project. We had trainings and I am part of the documentation team. All straight writing (and one thing) its all JARGON! Y’know how the language of the court is. I want to popularize the information someday… I will need to consult with you… You are a science writer… some techy subject matter that you were able to simplify writing and get people understand the science thought better. Judicial reform is so difficult to communicate inside the OFFICES OF THE COURT… (that’s the 1st step) they’re my first audience on my writing project. I will surely email you on tips on how to start my STORY.

  3. I promise to write more about how to write inside or outside any technical subject.

Leave a Reply

 
